top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search

My top ten guitarists...

Updated: Jun 30, 2019

In no particular order



Peter Allen Greenbaum, born 26th Oct 1946...in Bethnal Green, London who later stated that his hero was the Shadows guitarist Hank Marvin and as a tribute played The Shadows song Midnight on the 1996 tribute album "Twang."


The early years...

John Mayall's Bluesbreakers

After playing with a few bands Peter Green had the opportunity to fill in for Eric Clapton in John Mayall & the Bluesbreakers for three concerts. Soon after, when Clapton left the Bluesbreakers, Green became a full-time member of Mayall's band.




Mike Vernon, a producer at Decca Records recalls Green's début with the Bluesbreakers:

As the band walked in the studio I noticed an amplifier which I never saw before, so I said to John Mayall, "Where's Eric Clapton?" Mayall answered, "He's not with us anymore, he left us a few weeks ago." I was in a shock of state but Mayall said, "Don't worry, we got someone better." I said, "Wait a minute, hang on a second, this is ridiculous. You've got someone better than Eric Clapton?" John said, "He might not be better now, but you wait, in a couple of years he's going to be the best. Then he introduced me to Peter Green.

B.B. King commented, "He has the sweetest tone I ever heard; he was the only one who gave me the cold sweats.



I first heard of him when I first heard ‘Albatross’ in 1969 and in the same year ‘Oh Well’ and my favorite ‘Man of the World’ which just makes me want to weep and a song I have tried hard many times to play is ‘I Need your Love so Bad’ and then in 1970, ‘The Green Manalishi’ by which time I was smitten but by then Peter he had found and was taking copious amounts of LSD, grew a beard worse a crucifix and thought he was Jesus and in May 1970 he left Fleetwood Mac.



Green was eventually diagnosed with schizophrenia and spent time in psychiatric hospitals undergoing electroconvulsive therapy during the mid-1970s and dropped out until he, with the help of his brother re-emerged and continues to play to this day.




William Rory Gallagher. Born: 2 March 1948, Ballyshannon, Republic of Ireland.

Died: 14 June 1995, London

The early years...

Taste

Having completed a musical apprenticeship in the show bands, and influenced by the increasing popularity of beat groups during the early 1960s, Gallagher formed "The Taste", which was later renamed simply, "Taste", a blues rockand R&B power trio, in 1966.  Initially, the band was composed of Gallagher and two Cork musicians, Eric Kitteringham (died 2013) and Norman Damery. However, by 1968, they were replaced with two musicians from Belfast, featuring Gallagher on guitar and vocals, drummer John Wilson, and bassist Richard McCracken.



Performing extensively in the UK, the group played regularly at the Marquee Club, supporting both Cream at their Royal Albert Hall farewell concert, and the blues super group Blind Faith on a tour of North America. Managed by Eddie Kennedy, the trio released the albums Taste and On The Boards, and two live recordings, Live Taste and Live at the Isle of Wight.

The latter appeared long after the band's break-up shortly after their appearance at the 1970 Isle of Wight Festival.

I have no idea of exactly how I got to hear this guy and his band Taste, certainly nobody at my boarding had ever heard of him maybe it was me singing ‘I Wish I Was Your Catfish & What’s Going On’ as loud as I could through the silent corridors that brought Rory and me to the attention of others, yes, including the headmasters study.


Best quote I heard and still unsure if its 100% true is but I somehow find it unlikely.

Interviewer: What's it like being the best guitar player in the world?

Jimi Hendrix: I don't know man, ask Rory Gallagher




Jimmy Page, born January 1944 ...Yet another brilliant guitarist that played with John Mayall, (along with Eric Clapton and Jeff Beck). It was Presley's song "Baby Let's Play House" is cited by Page as being his inspiration to take up the guitar.

My first connection with Jimmy Page was the first Led Zeppelin album and these two tracks in particular, Communication Breakdown with that riff.


Jimmy has also penned some of the greatest rock songs and ballads .i.e. Rock and Roll...a song that still makes me want and to leap up and dance like testicles are on fire...not a pretty sight...


...and not forgetting Good Times Bad Times...and Stairway to heaven which I doubt even after so many years of practising that I will ever master...




Paco De Lucia, born 21st December 1947.

John Mclaughlin, born 4th January 1942.


Al Di Meola, born, 22 July 1954,

Individually brilliant and together, outstanding.


Al by himself...


...and not even in the top 100 guitarists of all time...who creates these lists??




David Gilmour born 6th March 1946 joined Pink Floyd in 1967 after Syd Barrat behaviour became increasingly erratic and also had a few issues with Roger Waters after Dark Side of the Moon and after Roger left David took over Pink Floyd and then feeling his talent was being ignored ventured off on his own.





Keith Richards, born 18th December 1943...well what can I add to this guy...bloody legend and from the first time I heard the Stones in the mid sixties...I just loved this guy...and like many happy he survived what he put his body through






Ritchie Blackmore, born14th April 1945, founder member of Deep Purple a band I think never really got the breaks they deserved. This guy knew his way around a guitar and could produce jaw dropping guitar sounds






Jimi Hendrix, born 27th November 1942. I had stated above ‘no particular order', well there wasn’t apart from this guy who is my favourite guitarist of all time, a man who can play the blues, jazz, rock and the gentler melodies..here’s a taste of just some of his stuff...still blows me away after all those years of listening to him...






Like all lists this was without doubt one of the hardest ones I have compiled as there were and still are some magnificent guitarists out there...Enjoy...

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page